cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updates to CSS file not showing in front-end

Updates to CSS file not showing in front-end

I need to remove the background image on a website. I've used my web browsers 'Inspect Element' tool to find out where it's pulling the CSS from and then gone into that CSS file via FTP and amended it. However the updates haven't been reflected on the live site and the background image is still showing. When I 'Inspect Element' again I can't see my changes to the code, but I can see them in the CSS file. I've tried flushing the CSS cache but to no avail. 

I'm new to Magento so any help greatly appreciated! 

12 REPLIES 12

Re: Updates to CSS file not showing in front-end

Your steps seem correct. Maybe your browser cache got in the way. If you use google chrome, hold down the refresh button and use Hard Reload.

A CDN (Content Delivery Network) can sometimes hold old files as well.

If still no look, load the CSS in your bowser driectly. If you use merge CSS - delete your merge files in /media/css/

Thanks for your quick response. 

I've done a hard reload and still no luck! 

The site doesn't appear to use merged CSS files.

What do you mean by 'load the CSS in your browser directly'? 

I just meant load the CSS by opetning the Address in your browser e.g. yourstore.com/skin/package/theme/css/test.css and then make sure that is the one added  in your html.

and then compare your changes, sometimes reveals basic errors like loading CSS into the woring theme folder etc.

Changing the CSS is not a big thing, but there are little mistakes that can happen all the time which can cause the frustration, then its best to try narrowing down the problem.

Hard to tell the exact problem, but comman issues are:

• Magento Cache (CSS merge enabled)
  • Browser Cache
  • CDN cache
  • Wrong package/theme folder