cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Magento ver. 1.9.2.2 Upgrade to 1.9.3.7 FAILED!!

Magento ver. 1.9.2.2 Upgrade to 1.9.3.7 FAILED!!

Hi guys

I am a self confessed total newbie at doing upgrades, so much so, I've only once tried and failed!

I went to my admin page and Magento Connect Manager and Mage_All_Latest 1.9.3.7 (stable)  I then chose to Upgrade. A black window opened displaying activity and then:

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'PDOException' with message 'SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 2006 MySQL server has gone away' in /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php:228 Stack trace: #0 

/home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php(228): PDOStatement->execute(Array) #1 /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Varien/Db/Statement/Pdo/Mysql.php(110): Zend_Db_Statement_Pdo->_execute(Array) #2 /home/*********/public_html/magento/app/code/core/Zend/Db/Statement.php(291): Varien_Db_Statement_Pdo_Mysql->_execute(Array) #3 /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php(480): Zend_Db_Statement->execute(Array) #4 /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Abstract.php(238): Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->query('SELECT mg_core...', Array) #5 /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Varien/Db/Adapter/Pdo/Mysql.php(504): Zend_Db_Adapter_Pdo_Abstract->query('SELECTmg_core...', Array) #6 /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php(828): in /home/*********/public_html/magento/lib/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php on line 235
Exception during cache and session cleaning

My website and Admin became inaccessible, from memory it displayed a page similar to 'Site is down for Maintenance'.

I asked my hosting provider to restore my site to a backup  from a day before. They did this but still no joy!! They then informed me: