cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Magento 2 Custom Themes

Magento 2 Custom Themes

I'm a developer that's new to magento - can anybody point me in the right direction that gives me an insight into how it works in regards to creating a custom theme. I've looked through the docs and am none the wiser as the whole approach is pretty new to me.

I've created a theme that has the Blank theme as a parent, but I can't find where I edit any front end html, or move things around on my page... For instance, i'd like to move the search bar underneath my main navigation, how would I do this?

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Magento 2 Custom Themes

For moving the search you may be able to achieve this through layout instructions which you can read up on here: http://devdocs.magento.com/guides/v2.1/frontend-dev-guide/layouts/xml-instructions.html

For getting started by creating a new theme, I think this page is the most relevant out of the docs: http://devdocs.magento.com/guides/v2.1/frontend-dev-guide/themes/theme-create.html

Which particular point in the process did you get up to? What have you tried and hasn't worked?

----
If you've found one of my answers useful, please give "Kudos" or "Accept as Solution" as appropriate. Thanks!

I went through the Creating a theme guide and done all of that, so I have a theme, that has the Magento blank theme as a parent.

Now I'm trying to get an understanding of how the front-end pages are put together. Like where does the rendering process start, I think it's with page layouts.

So I've created a file...

/app/design/frontend/<vendor>/<theme-name>/Magento_Theme/view/frontend/page_layout/1column.xml

And I think my file above should be used instead of...

/vendor/magento/module-theme/view/frontend/page_layout/1column.xml

Am I right in thinking that @Tom Robertshaw?

You dont need to keep in your custom theme view/frontend Because by default you created theme is for frontend scope so just ignore it.