cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving to the Magento ecosystem

Moving to the Magento ecosystem

Hi all,

I'm new to Magento world. I've been working in web development for a single company for quite a while now and we have decided to move towards selling online (as opposed to just showcasing and quoting on our products) with Magento.

I don't know how typical my use case is. We are quite a small, family-run business and I have been looking after the websites (we have more than one) and other general IT duties. There are several aspects to our business but the one we are initially looking to move onto Magento is our personalised Workwear and equipment section. If this proves successful then we will look at adopting Magento for other areas of the business as well.

I would describe myself as proficient in HTML, CSS (and SASS, but learning LESS now as well..!), PHP, MySql and Javascript but with little experience using a complex infrastructure like Magento. As such, just learning how Magento works under the hood is quite a challenge.

We are looking to use a lightly customised version of the Luma theme initially. Creating a new theme and css that extends the Luma theme is straightforward enough but one request I've had will require changing the layout of the product page slightly. I've gone through the Dev Docs and, although each part seems to make sense, I've not had the 'a-ha!' moment when it clicks how everything quite fits together. So, that's what I'm working on now and will probably have to post a couple of questions in the forums to clarify a few things.